Committee 2021-22

(Hover over image to flip it over for committee member’s information &  contact details)

President 2021-22 James Hammond

Blackwood Victoria Bowling Club

James Hammond



Vice President Stuart Forrest

Overtown and Waterloo Bowling Club

Stuart Forrest


Stuart has been a  member of Overtown and Waterloo Bowling Club for 53 years.  He  was 5 times Club Champion and has 2 National titles - Under 25 junior and Fours.  He also has  5 Lanarkshire titles and has played for 35 years with both West and South teams, and has very much enjoyed his time as a Lanarkshire Director. 

Past President Bill Cassidy

Larkhall Bowling Club

Bill Cassidy


Information to follow

Secretary Steven McLaren

Uddingston Bowling & Tennis Club

Steven McLaren


Currently Secretary at Uddingston and 5 times Club Champion.

(More to follow)

Treasurer Graham Gillespie

Caldercraig Bowling club

Graham Gillespie

Graham Joined Caldercraig in 1992 aged 12.  He was Club Champion on 3 occasions, including youngest ever champion in 1999.   
He represented Lanarkshire at Under 25s  and played for both the South & West teams in the Andrew Hamilton Trophy.
 He was part of the winning team with Lanarkshire South in 2006.  Also in  the Caldercraig team that won the under 45 Lansborough Trophy in 2002.

Competitions Director TBA

About me

More information to follow

Social Media Director Iain Mclean

Blackwood Victoria Bowling Club

Iain McLean

Iain has had an illustrious bowls career to date.   In 2013, he won the Hong Kong International Bowls Classic Pairs Title.  Then in 2014 he became the World Singles Champion of Champions defeating Fairus Jabal of Malaysia in the final.  He also won the gold medal  at the 2015 World Cup Singles in Warilla, Australia.   He won a bronze medal in the fours at the 2016 World Outdoor Bowls Championship in Christchurch with Alex Marshall, Paul Foster and Ronnie Duncan.

He is a two time winner of the Scottish National Bowls Singles Championship. 

Director David Blades

Airdrie Central Bowling Club

David Blades

David started playing at Airdrie Central  when he was 14 years old.  He was Club Champion twice at 17 and 18 years of age,  and won Top 6.  He also represented Lanarkshire County and played for the West Team for a few years.  He  also  played at Coatbridge and Newarthill BC  where he  won Lanarkshire 4s with Newarthill and won both Championships there before returning to  Airdrie Central.   He was beaten finalist  in two Scottish triples teams  in 2014 and 2015. 

Director Fraser Gillespie

Caldercraig Bowling Club

Fraser Gillespie


Fraser joined Caldercraig Bowling Club in 1994.  He won the Senior Handicap and Senior Pairs Competitions in 2010 and went on to win  the Senior Championship in 2012. 

He was elected Club President in 1999 and was President of Airdrie Bowling Leagues in 2000.  He was Secretary of the Gents Section at Caldercraig from 2009 and was elected President of Airdrie and Coatbridge Bowling Leagues in 2019.

He has  been a Director of LBA since 2015.

Director Michael O'Hagan

Whitefield Bowling Club

Michael O'Hagan


Michael joined Whitefield BC in 1987 and won  the club championship on 3 occasions. He also had success in Glasgow & Lanarkshire competitions along with  numerous other successes either within or externally representing his club.  He coached the junior section from 1998-2002 and produced some excellent young talents who have gone on to achieve great success.

Michael has also  been the President (twice), Secretary, Treasurer, and was also Match Secretary for a number of years.  All of these have provided great experience for his role in the LBA.

Director David Cherrie

David Cherrie


Director Ian Gilchrist

Ian Gilchrist


Director Alan Hope

Alan Hope


Director Stuart McDowall

Quarter Bowling Club

Stuart McDowall


Stuart started playing bowls at Eddlewood when he was 16. He is currently a member of Quarter Bowling Club where he has been secretary for 10 years.

He was previously  a member of Courtfield and Gullane and Blackwood Victoria B.C.'s. 

Stuart  has also been Club President on three occasions including the centenary year and is currently  president of the Lanarkshire Leagues. 

He was also a selector for the Lanarkshire SYBA. 


Director Michael Ormiston

St Leonard's Bowling Club

Michael Ormiston


Michael  started playing bowls with Rolls Royce in 2001 until it closed 2014, and was was President in 2012 and 2013.
He has  played at St Leonard’s Bowling Club from 2014 where he is  Match Secretary.  
 He is also St Leonard's Club President this year and  President of  The Rutherglen and District Bowling Association .